Saturday, March 27, 2010

The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games is a book set in the future, when North America has been destroyed and is now known as Panem. Panem is broken up into 12 districts and 1 capital. In Panem, they have a yearly game known as the Hunger Games. This game consists of 24 kids between the ages of 12-18, a boy and a girl from each district called Tributes. The kids are forced to fight to the death, while all of Panem watches.

This story takes place in District 12, about a girl named Katniss, who is 16 years old. She is a very strong individual because she has been taking care of her family since the age of 11 when her father died. She risks her life going out hunting in the woods every day to find food for her sister Prim and her mother who has given up on life since Katniss' father died. When her sister Prim is picked to be a tribute in the Hunger Games, Katniss decides to step in and take her sister's place. When Katniss becomes a tribute, she's thrown into a life using the skills she has acquired at home to survive.

I found The Hunger Games really enjoyable. Around the fourth chapter, the action never stops, which kept me from wanting to put the book down. This book ranges from age 12 to adult. I have also heard the possibility of this book being turned into a movie in 2011.

1 comment:

  1. Your blog looks great.

    Our company has been representing authors for the past twenty years.
    We would love to add you to our database to receive press releases from them regarding books applicable to the genres you review.

    Thank you in advance,

    Ken Eason
    Bostick Communications


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...